A Resolution

NO. _____

APPOINTING CERTAIN MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF TAX INCREMENT REINVESTMENT ZONE NUMBER TWO, CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS; ACKNOWLEDGING THE APPOINTMENT OF THE OTHER CURRENT MEMBERS OF THE BOARD AND APPOINTING A CHAIRPERSON FOR THE BOARD (SPEEDWAY TIF)

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of Fort Worth (the "City Council") previously adopted Ordinance No. 12323 creating Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Two, City of Fort Worth, Texas (the "Reinvestment Zone");

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 12323 provides that the Reinvestment Zone is to be overseen by a nine (9)-member Board of Directors (the "Board"), of which one (1) member is the State Senator whose district lies within the Reinvestment Zone or a designee; one (1) member is the State Representative whose district lies within the Reinvestment Zone or a designee; the Northwest Independent School District and Denton County, if they have elected to contribute tax increment to the Reinvestment Zone, may appoint one (1) member each; and the City Council has the right to appoint all remaining members;

WHEREAS, House Bill 2853, which was passed by the 82nd Texas Legislature and took effect on June 17, 2011, amended Section 311.009 of the Texas Tax Code regarding the appointment of members to the Board of tax increment reinvestment zones and prevails over any conflicting provision of Ordinance No. 12323;

WHEREAS, the terms for some Board members expire on December 31, 2020, and the City Council wishes to make appointments to those places for terms beginning January 1, 2021, at this time;

WHEREAS, Section 311.009(c) of the Texas Tax Code provides that Board members shall be appointed for a term of two (2) years unless otherwise indicated;

WHEREAS, the City Council has the right, at any time and for any reason, to appoint an individual to the Board to replace any current member appointed by the City Council for the remainder of that person's term;

WHEREAS, Tom Kelly and Kenton Nelson were appointed to serve on the Board through December 31, 2021; however, they can no longer serve on the Board; and

WHEREAS, it is necessary for the City Council to appoint two people to fill such vacancies on the Board for the remainder of the unexpired terms currently in effect.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS, THAT:

1. The City Council hereby appoints the persons listed below to the Board for the remainder of the applicable terms and expiring as indicated below:

NAI	М	E	
T	•	~	

APPOINTING ENTITY

EXPIRATION OF TERM

Terri Cartwright Rob D. Ramage City of Fort Worth City of Fort Worth December 31, 2021 December 31, 2021

2. The City Council hereby acknowledges that the following persons have been appointed to the Board by the following entities for terms expiring on the dates indicated below:

<u>NAME</u>	APPOINTING ENTITY	EXPIRATION OF TERM
Dennis Shingleton	City of Fort Worth	December 31, 2021
Carlos Flores	City of Fort Worth	December 31, 2021
Phillip Vaden	City of Fort Worth	December 31, 2021
Steve Sprowls	Northwest ISD	December 31, 2022
Ryder Warren	State Senator	December 31, 2021
Tye Sheets Pierpont	State Representative	December 31, 2022
Tan Parker	State Representative	December 31, 2022

- 3. The City Council hereby appoints Dennis Shingleton as the Board's chairperson for calendar year 2021.
- 4. The City Council hereby reserves the right, at any time and for any reason, to remove a Board member appointed by the City Council and to appoint individuals to the Board to replace any of the City Council-appointed Board members.

AND IT IS SO RESOLVED.

ADOPTED this <u>15th</u> day of <u>December</u>, 2020

ATTEST:

By: _____

Mary Kayser, City Secretary