A Resolution

| NO. |
|-----|
| NO. |

ESTABLISHING DESIGN REVIEW COMMITTEE FOR THE FORT WORTH CONVENTION CENTER RENOVATION AND EXPANSION AND APPOINTING MEMBERSHIP

WHEREAS, the Fort Worth Convention Center (FWCC) and its arena opened for business in 1968, with the City acquiring the property in 1997, and initial renovation and expansion having been completed in 2003; and

WHEREAS, renovation and expansion of the FWCC, including demolition of the half-century-old arena, was initially proposed in a 1996 study by Coopers & Lybrand, which was subsequently revisited by Carter & Burgess in 2000 and Hunden Strategic Partners in 2013; and

WHEREAS, decommissioning and demolition of the arena at the FWCC was contingent upon the development of an alternate arena facility; and

WHEREAS, the recent completion and successful opening of the Dickies Arena in the Cultural District means that the City can now proceed with more definitive plans to demolish the FWCC arena and redevelop the site; and

WHEREAS, City Council desires to obtain input from hospitality industry stakeholders, downtown business and property owners, and the community on the ultimate design, space uses and funding considerations to develop recommendations for ultimate approval of the Fort Worth City Council; and

WHEREAS, the committee will consider Fort Worth's tourism opportunities, customer demand for and the adequacy of the City's event facilities operated by both the private and public sectors, and ways in which increased tourism and convention business will impact and benefit the community; and

WHEREAS, City Council wishes for the makeup of the committee to be diverse and inclusive, representing a broad spectrum of socio-economic and business/community perspectives; and

WHEREAS it is the desire of the Fort Worth City Council to name the membership so that this important committee can begin its study and work immediately.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS, THAT:

The City Council hereby names the following individuals to serve at the pleasure of the City Council as members of the Design Review Committee:

Mayor Pro-Tem Jungus Jordan

Mayor Betsy Price

Councilwoman Ann Zadeh Leah King Jarred Howard **Bob Jameson** Ed Bass Sasha Bass Jay Chapa Andy Taft Bobby Ahdieh Richard Casarez Glenn Forbes Johnny Campbell Joseph DeLeon Randy Gideon Adrian Parr Martha Peters Annette Landeros Perry Bass Gloria Starling Jonathan Morris Lanny Lancarte Bob Benda Adopted this _____day of _____ 2020. ATTEST: By: _____ Mary Kayser, City Secretary