A Resolution

NO. _____

APPOINTING CERTAIN MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF TAX INCREMENT REINVESTMENT ZONE NUMBER TWO, CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS; ACKNOWLEDGING THE APPOINTMENT OF THE OTHER CURRENT MEMBERS OF THE BOARD AND APPOINTING A CHAIRPERSON FOR THE BOARD (SPEEDWAY TIF)

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of Fort Worth (the "City Council") previously adopted Ordinance No. 12323 creating Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Two, City of Fort Worth, Texas (the "Reinvestment Zone"); and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 12323 provides that the Reinvestment Zone is to be overseen by a nine (9)-member Board of Directors (the "Board"), of which one (1) member is the State Senator whose district lies within the Reinvestment Zone or a designee; one (1) member is the State Representative whose district lies within the Reinvestment Zone or a designee; the Northwest Independent School District and Denton County, if they have elected to contribute tax increment to the Reinvestment Zone, may appoint one (1) member each; and the City Council has the right to appoint all remaining members; and

WHEREAS, House Bill 2853, which was passed by the 82nd Texas Legislature and took effect on June 17, 2011, amended Section 311.009 of the Texas Tax Code regarding the appointment of members to the Board of tax increment reinvestment zones and prevails over any conflicting provision of Ordinance No. 12323; and

WHEREAS, the terms for some Board members expire on December 31, 2018, and the City Council wishes to make appointments to those places for terms beginning January 1, 2019, at this time; and

WHEREAS, Section 311.009(c) of the Texas Tax Code provides that Board members shall be appointed for a term of two (2) years unless otherwise indicated; and

WHEREAS, the City Council has the right, at any time and for any reason, to appoint an individual to the Board to replace any current member appointed by the City Council for the remainder of that person's term; and

WHEREAS, Section 311.009(f) of the Texas Tax Code provides that the City Council must appoint one (1) member of the Board to serve as the Board's chairperson for a term of one (1) year beginning on January 1, 2020:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE

CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS, THAT:

1. The City Council hereby appoints the persons listed below to the Board for terms beginning January 1, 2020, and expiring as indicated below:

NAME
Dennis Shingleton
Carlos Flores
Kenton Nelson
Phillip Vaden
Tom Kelly

APPOINTING ENTITY

City of Fort Worth **EXPIRATION OF TERM**

December 31, 2021 December 31, 2021 December 31, 2021 December 31, 2021 December 31, 2021

2. The City Council hereby acknowledges that the following persons have been appointed to the Board by the following entities for terms expiring on the dates indicated below:

<u>NAME</u>	APPOINTING ENTITY	EXPIRATION OF TERM
Steve Sprowls	Northwest ISD	December 31, 2020
Ryder Warren	State Senator	December 31, 2021
Tye Sheets Pierpont	State Representative	December 31, 2020
Tan Parker	State Representative	December 31, 2020

- 3. The City Council hereby appoints Dennis Shingleton as the Board's chairperson for calendar year 2020.
- 4. The City Council hereby reserves the right, at any time and for any reason, to remove a Board member appointed by the City Council and to appoint individuals to the Board to replace any of the City Council-appointed Board members.

AND IT IS SO RESOLVED.

ADOPTED this <u>3rd</u> day of <u>December</u>, 2019

ATTEST:

By: _____

Mary Kayser, City Secretary