CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS CITY COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY, MAY 16, 2023

Present:

Mayor Mattie Parker Mayor Pro tem Gyna M. Bivens, District 5 Council Member Carlos Flores, District 2 Council Member Michael D. Crain, District 3 Council Member Alan Blaylock, District 10 Council Member Jared Williams, District 6 Council Member Chris Nettles, District 8 Council Member Elizabeth Beck, District 9

Absent:

Council Member Leonard Firestone, District 7

Others Present:

Council Member-Elect Charlie Lauersdorf, District 4 Council Member-Elect Macy Hill, District 7

Staff Present:

David Cooke, City Manager Leann Guzman, City Attorney Ronald P. Gonzales, Assistant City Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

With a quorum of the City Council Members present, Mayor Parker called the Special Called Meeting for the Election Canvass of the Fort Worth City Council to order 5:31 p.m. on Tuesday, May 16, 2023, in the City Council Chamber of the Fort Worth City Hall, 200 Texas Street, Fort Worth, Texas.

INVOCATION - Pastor Tim Woody, City Life Church Downtown Fort Worth

The invocation was provided by Pastor Tim Woody, City Life Church Downtown Fort Worth.

The Pledges of Allegiance to the United States of America and the State of Texas were recited.

CERTIFICATION OF OFFICIAL RETURNS BY CITY SECRETARY

A. General Election Held on May 6, 2023, for the Purpose of Electing a Mayor and City Council Members for City Council Districts 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11

Assistant City Secretary Gonzales advised Council that they had been provided with the certifications and tabulations of the official elections returns from Tarrant, Denton, and Parker Counties for the General Election held on Saturday, May 6, 2023, for the purpose of electing the Mayor and ten (10) City Council Members for their respective single member districts of the City of Fort Worth, Texas, with the certified cumulative returns for such election. She stated that as a result of the tabulations, the following persons were hereby elected to the City Council:

Mayor Mattie Parker	
Council Member District 2:	Carlos Flores
Council Member District 3:	Michael D. Crain
Council Member District 4:	Charles Lauersdorf
Council Member District 5:	Gyna M. Bivens
Council Member District 6:	Jared Williams
Council Member District 7:	Macy Hill
Council Member District 8:	Chris Nettles
Council Member District 9:	Elizabeth M. Beck
Council Member District 10:	Alan Blaylock

Assistant City Secretary Gonzales advised that no candidate received a majority of the total number of votes received by all candidates for the City Council District 11 and that no candidate be declared elected to City Council District 11. In accordance with Chapter IV, Section 2, City of Fort Worth Home Rule Charter, a run-off election is hereby declared necessary to fill this place on the City Council.

RESOLUTIONS

- <u>23-0334</u> A Resolution Canvassing the Returns; Declaring the Results of the General Election Held on May 6, 2023, for the Purpose of Electing a Mayor and City Council Members for the City of Fort Worth; and Declaring a Run-Off Election for June 10, 2023
- Motion: The City Council received a copy of the May 6, 2023, General Election returns and a copy of the resolution canvassing the returns. By a show of hands, Resolution No. 5734-05-2023 was adopted without objection, with Council Member Firestone absent.

ADMINISTRATION OF OATH OF OFFICE

Assistant City Secretary Gonzales administered the Oath of Office to Mayor-Elect Parker and Council Members-Elect Carlos Flores, Michael D. Crain, Charles Lauersdorf, Gyna M. Bivens, Jared Williams, Macy Hill, Chris Nettles, Elizabeth M. Beck, and Alan Blaylock.

(Council Members Lauersdorf and Macy Hill took their place at the dais.)

PRESENTATION OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION

Mayor Parker presented Certificates of Election to Council Members-Elect Carlos Flores, Michael D. Crain, Charles Lauersdorf, Gyna M. Bivens, Jared Williams, Macy Hill, Chris Nettles, Elizabeth M. Beck, and Alan Blaylock.

Assistant City Secretary Gonzales presented a Certificate of Election to Mayor-Elect Mattie Parker.

REMARKS AND INTRODUCTIONS BY COUNCIL MEMBERS

Mayor Parker and Council Members Carlos Flores, Michael D. Crain, Charles Lauersdorf, Gyna M. Bivens, Jared Williams, Macy Hill, Chris Nettles, Elizabeth M. Beck, and Alan Blaylock expressed appreciation to their families, friends, citizens of Fort Worth, and staff for their support and provided remarks relative to their vision for the future of Fort Worth and their respective duties. Mayor Parker extended congratulations to all Council Members on their election/re-election and expressed appreciation to the citizens who allowed them to serve the City of Fort Worth.

ADJOURN

There being no further business, Mayor Parker adjourned the meeting at 6:47 p.m.