A Resolution

NO. _____

APPOINTING ALAN BLAYLOCK AS A PRIMARY MEMBER AND OFFICIAL VOTING REPRESENTATIVE TO THE REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION COUNCIL (RTC) OF THE NORTH CENTRAL TEXAS COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS AND APPOINTING CHRIS NETTLES AND DR. JARED WILLIAMS AS ALTERNATE MEMBERS AND AS OFFICIAL VOTING REPRESENTATIVES TO THE RTC

WHEREAS, the Regional Transportation Council (RTC) is the independent transportation policy body of the Metropolitan Planning Organization and is comprised of 43 members; 36 local elected or appointed officials representing cities and counties, and representatives from each of the area's transportation providers; and

WHEREAS, the RTC is responsible for overseeing the metropolitan planning process including primary activities such as providing guidance regarding the development of multimodal transportation plans and programs, programming federal and State funds for the implementation of transportation improvements, selecting specific federally funded projects and programs, assuring the coordination of services among transportation providers, and ensuring compliance with federal and State laws and regulations pertaining to metropolitan transportation and air quality planning; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Bylaws of the RTC, the City of Fort Worth possesses the authority to appoint four primary representatives, with three of such roles currently filled by Mayor Pro Tem Gyna Bivens and Councilmembers Elizabeth M. Beck and Michael D. Crain; and

WHEREAS, the Bylaws also allow appointment of an alternate for each primary member, with an alternate able to attend and vote in the primary member's absence; and

WHEREAS, Councilmember Carlos Flores, Leonard Firestone, and Alan Blaylock are currently appointed as alternate members to the RTC; and

WHEREAS, the City Council wishes to appoint Alan Blaylock as the fourth primary member and to appoint Chris Nettles and Dr. Jared Williams as the third and fourth alternate members to allow City representation in the event multiple primary members will be absent.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS, THAT:

Councilmember Alan Blaylock is hereby appointed as a primary member and official voting representative and councilmembers Chris Nettles and Dr. Jared Williams are hereby appointed as additional alternate members of the Regional Transportation Council to serve in the event the City's primary members will be absent.

Adopted this 14th day of February, 2023.

ATTEST:

By: _____ Jannette S. Goodall, City Secretary