A Resolution

APPOINTING EIGHT MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF THE FORT WORTH TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

WHEREAS, the Fort Worth Transportation Authority ("Authority"), also known as Trinity Metro, is governed by an Executive Committee, which under state law is also a Subregional Board (the "Board"); and

WHEREAS, Section 452.562(c) of the Texas Transportation Code provides that the Board consists of eleven (11) members, eight (8) of whom are appointed by the City Council and three (3) of whom are appointed by the Tarrant County Commissioners Court; and

WHEREAS, on August 12, 1986, the City Council approved Council Proposal 124, which urged the adoption of M&C G-6770 and recommended allocating the City's eight appointments so that each City Councilmembers for Districts 2 through 9 would appoint a single member; and

WHERAS, on August 12, 1986, the City Council also approved M&C G-6770, which identified the Board representative being appointed by each Councilmember "to provide for a wider geographic representation of the City" and such method has been used since that time; and

WHEREAS, due to the growth of the City since 1986, the City Council recognizes that allocating the City's eight appointments should take into account factors beyond geographic location, such as gender, socio-economic status, and ethnicity and that a strict by-district appointment may not always be the most appropriate and effective method to meet the needs of the City; and

WHEREAS, under state law each Board member must be a qualified voter residing within the Authority's boundaries or in a municipality that has entered into a contract with the Authority to receive services and has adopted a sales tax to participate in the funding of a transportation project with Section 452.562(g) authorizing elected officials to be appointed to service as an additional duty of office without compensation; and

WHEREAS, Section 452.542 of the Texas Transportation Code provides that each Board member serves at the pleasure of the governing body that appointed the member, and that each appointment must be reaffirmed annually; and

WHEREAS, the City Council wishes to appoint the individuals named below to the Board, each of whom meet all requirements to serve and who the City Council considers collectively to provide a fair and diverse representation of the City; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 452.562(f) of the Texas Transportation Code, the City Council intends that each of the individuals named below will, in addition to their other duties on the Board, represent the interests of transportation disadvantaged persons;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS:

THAT the following individuals are hereby appointed to serve on the Board of the Fort Worth Transportation Authority in accordance with state law:

Name	
Teresa Ayala	
Michael D. Crain	
Louis "Charles" Edmonds, Jr.	
Ben Robertson	
Dr. Sharla Horton-Williams	
Nicolo "Nick" Genua	
Chris Nettles	
Jeff Davis	
Adopted this day of September, 2022	
ATTEST:	
By:	
Jannette S. Goodall, City Secretary	