## **A Resolution**

NO. \_\_\_\_\_

## APPOINTING ALAN BLAYLOCK TO FILL THE REMAINDER OF CARY MOON'S UNEXPIRED TERM ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF FOUR TAX INCREMENT REINVESTMENT ZONES; APPOINTING ALAN BLAYLOCK AS CHAIRPERSON FOR THE BOARD OF TWO TAX INCREMENT REINVESTMENT ZONES

**WHEREAS**, the City Council of the City of Fort Worth ("City Council" and "City", respectively) previously created the following Tax Increment Reinvestment Zones ("TIF(s)") via the respective ordinances referenced below ("Creation Ordinance(s)"):

- a. Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Nine (Ordinance No. 15797)
- b. Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Ten (Ordinance No. 16002)
- c. Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Thirteen (Ordinance No. 17889-11-2007)
- d. Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Fourteen (Ordinance No. 20505-11-2012);

**WHEREAS**, each Creation Ordinance provides that each of the TIFs are governed by a Board of Directors ("Board"), which may include appointments by the City Council and other participating taxing entities;

**WHEREAS**, House Bill 2853, which was passed by the 82<sup>nd</sup> Texas Legislature and took effect on June 17, 2011, amended Texas Tax Code Section 311.009 regarding appointment of Board members of tax increment reinvestment zones and prevails over any conflicting provision of Creation Ordinances dated prior to June 17, 2011;

WHEREAS, Cary Moon will no longer serve on the Board of any TIF;

**WHEREAS,** it is necessary for the City Council to appoint a person to fill such vacancies on the TIF Boards for the remainder of the respective terms currently in effect;

WHEREAS, Section 311.009(f) of the Texas Tax Code provides that the City Council must appoint one (1) member of the Board to serve as the Board's chairperson for a term of one (1) year beginning January 1 of the year;

**WHEREAS**, the City Council desires to appoint Alan Blaylock to serve on the board of each TIF Cary Moon served and also as chairperson of the TIF boards in which Cary Moon served as chairperson for the remainder of Cary Moon's unexpired terms currently in effect; and

WHEREAS, the City Council has the right, at any time and for any reason, to appoint an individual to the Board to replace any current member appointed by the City Council for the remainder of that person's term.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS, THAT:

1. The City Council hereby appoints Alan Blaylock to the Board of the following tax increment reinvestment zones for the remainder of Cary Moon's unexpired terms as indicated below, including as chairperson where denoted:

TIF Board	Representing -	Member	Status	Term	Term
	<b>Taxing Entity</b>			Begins	Expires
TIF 09 Trinity River Vision	City of Fort Worth	Alan Blaylock	Appointee	5/24/2022	12/31/2023
TIF 10 Lone Star/Cabela's	City of Fort Worth	Alan Blaylock	Appointee	5/24/2022	12/31/2023
		- Chairperson			
TIF 13 Woodhaven	City of Fort Worth	Alan Blaylock	Appointee	5/24/2022	12/31/2022
		- Chairperson			
TIF 14 Trinity Lakes	City of Fort Worth	Alan Blaylock	Appointee	5/24/2022	12/31/2023

2. The City Council reserves the right, at any time and for any reason, to remove a Board member or chairperson appointed by the City Council and to appoint individuals to the Board or as chairpersons to replace any of the City Council appointed Board members or chairpersons.

## AND IT IS SO RESOLVED.

**ADOPTED** this 24<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2022.

ATTEST:

By:

Jannette S. Goodall, City Secretary