A Resolution

NO. 6087-05-2025

CANVASSING THE RETURNS; DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE GENERAL ELECTION HELD ON MAY 3, 2025, FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING A MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS FOR THE CITY OF FORT WORTH; AND DECLARING A RUN-OFF ELECTION FOR JUNE 7, 2025

WHEREAS, on January 28, 2025, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 27440-01-2025, calling for and ordering a general election to be held on Saturday, May 3, 2025, at which election all qualified voters of the City of Fort Worth would have the opportunity to vote for the purpose of electing a Mayor at large and ten (10) City Council Members from their respective districts; and

WHEREAS, on May 3, 2025, the general election was held at which the qualified voters of the City had the opportunity to vote for the purpose of electing a Mayor at large and ten (10) City Council Members from their respective districts; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Chapter 67 of the Texas Election Code, the City Council of the City of Fort Worth is required to canvass the returns and declare the results of the election;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FORT WORTH THAT:

<u>SECTION 1</u>. The declarations and findings contained in the preamble of this Resolution are hereby found to be true and correct and shall be made a part hereof.

SECTION 2. The City Council hereby finds and declares that the City Council election for a Mayor and Districts 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 was held on May 3, 2025, at which election qualified voters were given the opportunity to vote for the purpose of electing a Mayor at large and City Council Members from their respective districts.

<u>SECTION 3</u>. The City Council further finds and declares that the returns for such election are as follows:

<u>Mayor</u>

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Mattie Parker	26,104	278	183	26,565	66.68%
Josh Lucas	7,005	57	38	7,100	17.82%
Alyson Kennedy	1,651	12	0	1,663	4.17%
Lawrence E. Walker, II	1,019	7	1	1,027	2.58%
Millennium Anton C. Woods, Jr.	1,004	9	3	1,016	2.55%
Chris Wood	1,191	10	5	1,206	3.03%
Jeremy F. Labelle	204	1	0	205	0.51%
Donnell Ballard	1,054	4	1	1,059	2.66%
Total by County	39,232	378	231	39,841	

Council District 2

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Joe Ponce, Jr	487	0	0	487	26.34%
Carlos E. Flores	1,362	0	0	1,362	73.66%
Total by County	1,849	0	0	1,849	

Council District 3

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Jason Ballmann	1,505	0	58	1,563	28.33%
Michael D. Crain	3,787	0	168	3,955	71.67%
Total by County	5,292	0	226	5,518	

Council District 4

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Teresa Ramirez	1,363	0	0	1,363	25.51%
Charlie Lauersdorf	3,979	0	0	3,979	74.49%
Total by County	5,342	0	0	5,342	

Council District 5

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Kenneth Bowens, Jr	80	0	0	80	1.72%
Mary Kelleher	1,110	0	0	1,110	23.85%
Deborah Peoples	2,526	0	0	2,526	54.28%
Bob Willoughby	67	0	0	67	1.44%
Michael Moore	814	0	0	814	17.49%
Marvin Jose Diaz	57	0	0	57	1.22%
Total by County	4,654	0	0	4,654	

Council District 6

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Adrian Smith	156	0	0	156	3.14%
Marshall Hobbs	1,071	0	0	1,071	21.57%
Mia Hall	2,324	0	0	2,324	46.80%
Daryl R. Davis, II	1,415	0	0	1,415	28.49%
Total by County	4,966	0	0	4,966	

Council District 7

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Macy Hill	3,159	0	0	3,159	100%
Total by County	3,159	0	0	3,159	

Council District 8

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Chris Nettles	1,717	0	0	1,717	74.10%
Arthur McCoy, Jr	425	0	0	425	18.34%
Payton Jackson	175	0	0	175	7.55%
Total by County	2,317	0	0	2,317	

Council District 9

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Jenny Stewart	1,512	0	0	1,512	29.92%
Michael Raulerson	229	0	0	229	4.53%
Elizabeth Beck	3,312	0	0	3,312	65.55%
Total by County	5,053	0	0	5,053	

Council District 10

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Alan Blaylock	3,148	303	0	3,451	100%
Total by County	3,148	303	0	3,451	

Council District 11

	Tarrant County	Denton County	Parker County	Total	% of vote
Jeanette Martinez	1,724	0	0	1,724	77.07%
Hilda Cuzco	78	0	0	78	3.49%
Christopher Johnson	435	0	0	435	19.45%
Total by County	2,237	0	0	2,237	

SECTION 4. The City Council further finds and declares that such returns are correct, and adopts them as the returns of the election held on May 3, 2025, together with the tabulation of the total number of votes received in each precinct.

<u>SECTION 5.</u> The City Council further finds that each of the following persons be declared elected to the office of City Council Districts as noted:

Mayor	Mattie Parker
Council – District 2	Carlos E. Flores
Council – District 3	Michael D. Crain
Council – District 4	Charlie Lauersdorf
Council – District 5	Deborah Peoples
Council – District 7	Macy Hill
Council – District 8	Chris Nettles
Council – District 9	Elizabeth Beck
Council – District 10	Alan Blaylock
Council – District 11	Jeanette Martinez

SECTION 6. The City Council further finds that no candidate received a majority of the total number of votes received by all candidates for the position of Council Member of City Council District 6 and that no candidate be declared elected to City Council District 6. Therefore, in accordance with Chapter IV, Section 2, of the City of Fort Worth Home Rule Charter, a run-off election is hereby declared necessary to fill this place on the City Council.

SECTION 7. It is hereby officially found and determined that the meeting of the Fort Worth City Council at which this Resolution was adopted was open to the public, and that public notice of the time, place and purpose of said meeting was given, as required by Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code.

<u>SECTION 8</u>. This Resolution shall take effect upon adoption on this 13^h day of May, 2025.

Mattie Parker, Mayor

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:

ATTEST:

Leann Guzman, City Attorney

Jannette Goodall, City Secretary