# CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS CITY COUNCIL MEETING

## **TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2022**

### **Present:**

Mayor Mattie Parker
Mayor Pro tem Gyna M. Bivens, District 5
Council Member Michael D. Crain, District 3
Council Member Cary Moon, District 4
Council Member Jared Williams, District 6
Council Member Leonard Firestone, District 7
Council Member Chris Nettles, District 8
Council Member Elizabeth Beck, District 9

#### **Absent:**

Council Member Carlos Flores, District 2

## **Staff Present:**

David Cooke, City Manager Laetitia Brown, Interim City Attorney Jannette Goodall, City Secretary

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

With a quorum of the City Council Members present, Mayor Parker opened the Special Called Meeting of the Fort Worth City Council Public Hearing on Redistricting Map Proposed by the Redistricting Task Force to order at 4:11p.m. on Tuesday, February 8, 2022, in the City Council Chamber of the Fort Worth City Hall, 200 Texas Street, Fort Worth, Texas.

#### **PUBLIC HEARING**

1. <u>22-2006</u> Public Hearing Regarding the Redistricting Map Proposed by the Redistricting Task Force

Mr. Fernando Florez, 2740 Hemphill, completed a speaker card via conference call in support of the redistricting map and was recognized by Mayor Parker but could not be reached by phone.

The following individuals appeared before Council in support of the redistricting map proposed by the Redistricting Task Force:

Mr. Pablo Calderon, 4813 Kemble Street (via conference call)

Ms. Tara Salley, 5839 Kilpatrick Avenue

Ms. Sarah Walker, 2767 East 1st

Mr. Kenneth Jones, 5228 Goodman Avenue

Mr. Bruce Miller, 3932 Weyburn Drive (via conference call)

Ms. Susan Kenney, 8116 Island Park Court (via conference call)

Ms. Jennifer Samuels, 9904 Eddleman Court (via conference call)

Mr. Ricardo Avitia (no address listed)

The following individuals completed comment cards in support of the redistricting map:

Ms. Jan Buck, 1513 North Sylvania Avenue

Mr. Paul Millender, 3121 Lipscomb Street

Mr. Ken Hicks, 1801 Bolton Street

Ms. Dena Ashton, 5725 Geddes Avenue

Ms. Ella Burton, 5812 Kilpatrick Avenue

Ms. Linda Hudson, 5316 Libbey Avenue

Ms. Brenda Russell, 5339 Fletcher Avenue

Ms. Elouise Burrell, 5537 Helmick Avenue

The following individuals appeared before Council in opposition to the redistricting map:

Mr. Tim Petrus, 3736 Country Club Circle (via conference call)

Ms. Cameron Cushman, 4221 Glenwood Drive

Mr. Blake Jordan, 5449 Night Sage Lane

Ms. Sylvia Alcala, 4101 Cloudvell Terrace (provided handouts)

Mr. Joe Guerrero, 3713 Bryan Avenue

Ms. Victoria Bargas, 301 East Drew Street

Ms. Lucretia Powell, 4416 East Kellis (provided handouts)

The following individuals completed speaker cards in opposition to the redistricting map and were recognized by Mayor Parker but were not present in the Council Chamber:

Ms. Connie Medina, 3716 South Jones

Ms. Laura Rios, 3736 South Jones

The following individuals appeared before Council undecided relative to the redistricting map:

Mr. Paul Kerpoe, 6717 Craig Street

Mr. Rick Herring, 1801 Bolton Street

Ms. Joanne Viola, 3713 Overton Park Drive East (provided handouts)

Mr. Dan Haase, 1670 Watson Road West

Ms. Naomi Dillard, 3501 Primrose Avenue

Ms. Frances Look, 1024 Lilac Street

Mr. Mitch Reitman, 3805 Trails Edge

Mr. Russell Fuller, 3805 Trails Edge (via conference call)

Mr. Leon Reed, Jr. 5045 Wilmington Drive (provided handouts)

Mr. Paul Wilson, 3517 Stone Creek Court (via conference call)

Ms. Kamryn Johnson, 5116 Libbey Avenue

Ms. Danielle, 1320 College Avenue, completed an undecided speaker card relative the to redistricting map and was recognized by Mayor Parker but was not present in the Council Chamber.

The following individuals completed undecided comment cards relative to the redistricting map:

Ms. Danielle Straus, 1320 College Avenue

Ms. Nancy Woods, 3208 Browning Court

CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS CITY COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2022 Page 4 of 4

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, Mayor Parker closed the Special Called Meeting of the Fort Worth City Council Public Hearing on Redistricting Map Proposed by the Redistricting Task Force at 5:13 p.m.