CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS CITY COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY, MAY 13, 2025

Present:

Mayor Mattie Parker

Mayor Pro tem Gyna M. Bivens, District 5

Council Member Carlos Flores, District 2

Council Member Michael D. Crain, District 3

Council Member Charlie Lauersdorf, District 4

Council Member Jared Williams, District 6

Council Member Macy Hill, District 7

Council Member Chris Nettles, District 8

Council Member Elizabeth Beck, District 9

Council Member Alan Blaylock, District 10

Council Member Jeanette Martinez, District 11

Staff Present:

Jesus "Jay" Chapa, City Manager Leann Guzman, City Attorney Jannette S. Goodall, City Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

With a quorum of the City Council Members present, Mayor Parker called the Special Called City Council Meeting - Election Canvass to order at 5:14 p.m. on Tuesday, May 13, 2025, in the Fort Worth City Hall, 100 Fort Worth Trail, Fort Worth, Texas.

CERTIFICATION OF OFFICAL RETURNS BY CITY SECRETARY

1. General Election Held on May 3, 2025, for the Purpose of Electing a Mayor and City Council Members for City Council Districts 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11

City Secretary Goodall advised Council that they had been provided with the certifications and tabulations of the official election returns from Tarrant, Denton, and Parker Counties for the General Election held on Saturday, May 3, 2025, for the purpose of electing the Mayor and ten (10) City Council Members for their respective single member districts of the City of Fort Worth, Texas, with the certified cumulative returns

CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS CITY COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY, MAY 13, 2025 Page 2 of 3

for such elections. She stated that as a result of the tabulations, the following persons were hereby elected to the City Council:

Mayor: Mattie Parker
Council Member District 2: Carlos Flores
Council Member District 3: Michael Crain

Council Member District 4: Charles Lauersdorf
Council Member District 5: Deborah Peoples

Council Member District 7: Macy Hill
Council Member District 8: Chris Nettles
Council Member District 9: Elizabeth Beck
Council Member District 10: Alan Blaylock
Council Member District 11: Jeanette Martinez

City Secretary Goodall advised that no candidate had received a majority of the total number of votes received by all candidates for the City Council District 6 and that no candidate be declared elected to City Council District 6. In accordance with Chapter IV, Section 2, Fort Worth City Home Rule Charter, a run-off election is hereby necessary to fill this place on the City Council.

RESOLUTIONS

1. <u>25-5090</u> A Resolution Canvassing the Returns; Declaring the Results of the General Election Held on May 3, 2025, for the Purpose of Electing a Mayor and City Council Members for the City of Fort Worth; and Declaring a Run-Off Election for June 7, 2025

The following individuals appeared before Council in opposition to Item 25-5090.

Bob Willoughby Adrian Smith

Motion: Mayor Pro tem Bivens made a motion, seconded by Council Member

Nettles, that Resolution No. 6087-05-2025 be adopted. Motion passed 11-0.

Mayor Pro tem Bivens expressed appreciation to her family, friends, citizens of Fort Worth and staff for their support and provided remarks relative to District 5.

Judge Mary Ellen Hicks administered the Oath of Office to Deborah Peoples.

(Council Member Peoples took her place at the dais.)

PRESENTATION OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION

Certificates of Election for the Mayor and City Council were placed at the dais.

ADMINISTRATION OF OATH OF OFFICE

City Secretary Goodall administered the Oath of Office to Council Member Nettles.

REMARKS AND INTRODUCTIONS BY COUNCIL MEMBERS

There were no remarks and introductions by Council Members.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Mayor Parker adjourned the meeting at 6:05 p.m.