A Resolution

NO. _____

RESCINDING MAYOR AND COUNCIL COMMUNICATION G-6770; ADOPTING CRITERIA FOR THE CITY'S EIGHT APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD OF THE FORT WORTH TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY; AND APPOINTING EIGHT INDIVIDUALS TO REPRESENT THE CITY

WHEREAS, the Fort Worth Transportation Authority ("Authority"), also known as Trinity Metro, is governed by an Executive Committee, which under state law is also a Subregional Board (the "Board"); and

WHEREAS, Section 452.562(c) of the Texas Transportation Code provides that the Board consists of eleven (11) members, eight (8) of whom are appointed by the City Council and three (3) of whom are appointed by the Tarrant County Commissioners Court; and

WHEREAS, prior to the expansion of Fort Worth City Council to a Mayor elected citywide and ten single-member districts, the City's eight appointments were allocated so that each Councilmember for Districts 2 through 9 would appoint a single member (Council Proposal 124; M&C G-6770); and

WHEREAS, given the fact that by-district appointment is no longer viable with the City being divided into ten districts, staff suggested the City Council adopt general criteria for membership of the Authority's board, with City Councilmembers and others suggesting possible candidates who would, following a standard due diligence conflict and vetting process by staff, be distilled to a slate of appointees for consideration by the entire City Council; and

WHEREAS, under state law each Board member must be a qualified voter residing within the Authority's boundaries or in a municipality that has entered into a contract with the Authority to receive services and has adopted a sales tax to participate in the funding of a transportation project, with Section 452.562(g) authorizing elected officials to be appointed to serve as an additional duty of office without compensation; and

WHEREAS, Section 452.542 of the Texas Transportation Code provides that each Board member serves at the pleasure of the governing body that appointed the member, and that each appointment must be reaffirmed annually and

WHEREAS, the City Council wishes to formally rescind the by-district process, adopt such generally applicable membership criteria, and appoint the individuals named below to the Board, each of whom meets the legal requirements to serve and who the City Council considers collectively to provide a fair and diverse representation of the City; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 452.562(f) of the Texas Transportation Code, the

City Council intends that each of the individuals named below will, in addition to their other duties on the Board, represent the interests of transportation disadvantaged persons;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FORT WORTH, TEXAS:

1. **THAT** M&C G-6770 is hereby rescinded;

2. THAT henceforth and until otherwise changed by the Fort Worth City Council, the City's appointees to the Fort Worth Transportation Authority board shall be selected so as to ensure a diverse and qualified board, individuals appointed to represent the City on this board, who should generally have (i) one or more of the key skill sets associated with running a transportation business (e.g., transportation, public /business administration, city planning, project management, and/or development background); and (ii) demonstrated community interest / focus (medical community, business community, inside the loop interest, outside the loop interest, tourism); and

3. THAT the following individuals are hereby appointed to serve on the Board of the Fort Worth Transportation Authority:

<u>Name</u>

Teresa Ayala Michael D. Crain Jeff Davis Sharla Horton Isaac Manning, Jr. Chris Nettles Rachel Navejar Phillips Ben Robertson

Adopted this ____ day of _____, 2024.

ATTEST:

By: _

Jannette S. Goodall, City Secretary